11/22/63

11/22/63

by Stephen King

Ricki Brodie (01/07/14): (Just want to rate this book.)
Rating: *****

Barb Crout (09/26/13): I usually do not read Stephen King's books as they give me terror-bumps but my granddaughter insisted that I read "11/22/63". I was caught at Page 1. Constantly amazed by his incredible memory and research, not to mention his talent for word-crafting, I flew through the book to page 842. In his "conversation" at the end, he says "the more I wrote, the more I remembered...and amazed how much came back to me" I was amazed at the memories this book brought back to me! A great book!
Rating: *****

Diane Barnes (10/18/12): I loved this book. It is a large book....many pages, but time passes quickly as you read about time travel back to 1963. The idea is to determine if Lee Harvey Oswald was the killer. If so, the traveler was to attempt to stop the assassination of JFK. Of course, many things happen along the way. If we could alter the past, would we really want to????
Rating: *****

Debbie Weiss (10/05/12): I absolutely loved this book! This is the first book I have read by Stephen King and I am completely hooked. The novel is well written and has wonderful character development. The premise, as explained by Dale and Jackie in their reviews, was fascinating. The concept of being able to travel back in time in order to alter a specific event in history is not a new one, but it is so convincingly depicted here that it seems natural that it could happen. The "butterfly" effect of the alteration of the historical event is mind-boggling. This was simply a great read!
Rating: *****

Jackie Wertymer (09/23/12): Our book club selected Stephen King's latest novel "11/22/63" for one of our summer reading choices. I have been a huge fan of Stephen King since the 70's, but have not read any of his novels for the last 15 years simply because his book "It" scared me to death!

"11/22/63" was like getting re-acquainted with an old friend after many years of separation. Everyone knows Mr. King is a prolific writer, with possibly over 50 books written thus far, but what I love about his writing is that he draws you in from the first chapter; his style is so easy…like having a conversation with your best friend. In my opinion this book may be one of his best works ever, not scary and it mainly focuses on time travel. "11/22/63" centers around a teacher, Jake Epping, who lives in Maine and through an acquaintance learns how to time travels back to 1958. His goal is to try to change the past by preventing the assassination attempt on JFK. During this visit to the past, Jake makes many friends and falls in love. Since I was born in the 50's, it was fun to go down memory lane with the old songs, commercial jingles and small town life…. I could almost smell the cigarette smoke coming from everyone’s lit Camels! I dare say you won’t be disappointed if you pick up this book, definitely my favorite read for 2012!
Rating: *****

Dale Israel (12/21/11): It's a rainy, winter day in Atlanta, GA and I'm basking in the glow of my latest great read 11/22/63 by Stephen King. This is the second fantastic book I've read in the past couple of weeks (the first being The Dove Keepers by Alice Hoffman) and I can only hope that my good luck continues.

I have never read Mr. King before although I know he wrote The Shawshank Redemption and the Green Mile and I loved both of these movies. The premise of 11/22/63 is simple: Jake Epping is asked by a friend dying of cancer to travel back in time to determine if Lee Harvey Oswald was indeed responsible for the murder of President John Kennedy and if so, prevent the assassination from taking place. Each time Jake visits the past, he can stay as long as he wishes, even years, but when he returns it's always 2 minutes later. Each subsequent visit is a "reset." This was a wonderful read that drew me in immediately. It grabbed a hold of my attention and wouldn't let go until the last click of my Kindle! I loved it and highly recommend this book. You won't be disappointed!
Rating: *****

Have you read this book, too?  Click here to submit your review.

Why don't you purchase this book from Amazon?

Why don't you purchase this Kindle edition from Amazon?


 
 
Join Our Email List
Email:  
For Email Marketing you can trust

 

Send Out Cards

 

Constant Contact