Beneath a Scarlet Sky

Beneath a Scarlet Sky

by Mark Sullivan

Overview: Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.

In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders. Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.

Dale Israel (07/16/17): Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan tells the story of Pino Lalla, a teenager living in war torn Milan during WWII. Little attention has been given to the Jews living in Italy and the atrocities they faced during the German's regime. This novel portrays life during this era and how one teen aged boy risked his life to save others. It was an engrossing story based on on a true story. Once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down which says a lot since I haven't been able to read for more than a year. This is just the kind of book I enjoy and hope I can find another one equally as engaging. I loved it!
Rating: *****

Have you read this book, too?  Click here to submit your review.


 
 
Join Our Email List
Email:  
For Email Marketing you can trust

 

Send Out Cards

 

Constant Contact