No Mercy

No Mercy

by Joanna Schaffhausen

Overview: Police officer Ellery Hathaway is on involuntary leave from her job because she shot a murderer in cold blood and refuses to apologize for it. Forced into group therapy for victims of violent crime, Ellery immediately finds higher priorities than “getting in touch with her feelings.”

For one, she suspects a fellow group member may have helped to convict the wrong man for a deadly arson incident years ago. For another, Ellery finds herself in the desperate clutches of a woman who survived a brutal rape. He is still out there, this man with the Spider-Man-like ability to climb through bedroom windows, and his victim beseeches Ellery for help in capturing her attacker.

Ellery seeks advice from her friend, FBI profiler Reed Markham, who liberated her from a killer’s closet when she was a child. Reed remains drawn to this unpredictable woman, the one he rescued but couldn’t quite save. The trouble is, Reed is up for a potential big promotion, and his boss has just one condition for the new job—stay away from Ellery. Ellery ignores all the warnings. Instead, she starts digging around in everyone’s past but her own—a move that, at best, could put her out of work permanently, and at worst, could put her in the city morgue.

Carole Zwicker (03/09/19):No Mercy by Joanna Schaffhausen is Book 2 of a series but works well on its own due to the helpful hints given throughout. Ellery Hathaway is on leave from her Boston police job because she shot and killed a murderer and she must be aprroved for return to work by her psychologist. While attending her group of victims of violent crimes, she becomes embroiled in the troubles of two of its members: one woman may have been party to the wrongful conviction of a man accused of arson 25 years ago and another woman needs Ellery to help capture and convict her violent rapist. Ellery seeks help from her friend FBI profiler Reed Markham, thereby getting both of them in hot water with their employers. The two storylines work well together and set a fast pace in the development of the novel. The Vanishing Season is Book 1 in the series and I look forward to reading it and any upcoming books by Joanna Schaffhausen.
Rating: ****

Have you read this book, too?  Click here to submit your review.

Join Our Email List
For Email Marketing you can trust


Send Out Cards


Constant Contact