The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games

by Suzanne Collins

Chris Mehling (06/14/12): I was really not interested in reading this book based on the subject manner. However, many of my coworkers raved about it so I was compelled to give it a try. I was instantly drawn into the story and the characters and could not put this book down! I finished it in three days which is pretty good considering I am a slow reader. If a book leaves my night stand, then you know it is good! I am halfway through Catching Fire the second in the trilogy and am enjoying it as well. Cannot wait to finish the third book to see how this story ends.
Rating: *****

Wanda Cohen (04/16/12): I loved this book! I second and third all the good reviews. I couldn't put it down. I liked it so much I immediately downloaded and read the second and third book!!
Rating: *****

Anne Ferber (03/28/12): Unable to resist the call of the sirens, I have devoted two days of my semi-retirement to the tangled web that is Panem and the America of the future where the .0001% rule the masses of this truncated country with an iron fist through fear, poverty, meager sustenance, and just plain absurdity. Oh its a page turner, alright; like watching a pile up on the interstate or the towers falling. Ripped from the headlines of Greek Mythology, add a little Shirley Jackson's Lottery, sprinkle Orwell's 1984 throughout, and put it all on as a television reality show with high tech interference and you've got the makings of a YA best seller.

I'm not saying it's not a good book. I just feel that our young people deserve better. Think: The Book Thief. My problem is that politically, it just did not seem so far into the future. Actually, come November, we may be just one Republican Administration away from making it all happen.
Rating: ***

Debbie Weiss (02/20/12): You can add me to the list of reviewers who loved this book! I was captivated from page one and enjoyed each and every chapter. The main character is a gem and you root for her the whole way through. This books is highly recommended to all readers.
Rating: *****

Donna Newman (01/08/12): Like the other reviewers, I was urged to read The Hunger Games. The book is not my usual fare. I was hooked from the first page. Two of my students, a 5th grader and an 11th grader, are also reading the book. I think the book's appeal spans a wide age range. My husband, a science fiction fan, listened to the whole trilogy on his long ride to and from work. I have finished the second book of the trilogy, and the third one is waiting for me. I never thought I would like the books as much as I do. The movie comes out in March.
Rating: *****

Marilyn Baron (01/08/12): Okay, I've officially finished reading The Hunger Games and LOVE it. I have to get the next two books in the trilogy. Right now. I highly recommend it. In fact, I recommended it to a stranger in a bookstore this afternoon.
Rating: *****

Marilyn Baron (01/02/12): This isn't a review, just a comment on Dale Israel's review. Like Dale, I have heard so much buzz about this book and wasn't sure I wanted to read it. Then my daughter bought the set of three books and loaned the first to me. I just started reading it and now can't put it down. The author has a great voice. When I'm finished, I'll submit a review, but just wanted to say you should give it a try.
Rating: *****

Dale Israel (12/25/11): My sister Barbara begged, pleaded and prodded. My husband Bob said it was really good and that I should read it. And 2,855 people out of 3,706 on Amazon gave it a 5 out of 5 star rating. Yet the premise of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins just didn't sound appealing: a book set in the future where 24 teenagers are forced to fight to the death of one another until there's only one survivor. Finally I threw in the towel and gave The Hunger Games a try. I guess it just doesn't pay to be hardheaded! Wow! What a book! Sometimes I couldn't read FAST enough, sometimes I couldn't read LONG enough and sometimes I couldn't GET enough. Luckily, there are two more books in the series so I have a few more hours of joy. Pick up this book and read it! I promise you won't regret it.
Rating: *****

Have you read this book, too?  Click here to submit your review.

Why don't you purchase this book from Amazon?

Why don't you purchase this Kindle e-book from Amazon?


 
 
Join Our Email List
Email:  
For Email Marketing you can trust

 

Send Out Cards

 

Constant Contact