The Queen of Palmyra

The Queen of Palmyra

by Minrose Gwin

Overview: An atmospheric debut novel about growing up in the changing South in 1960s Mississippi in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees and Kathryn Stockett’s The Help. In the words of Jill McCorkle (Going Away Shoes), “Minrose Gwin is an extremely gifted writer and The Queen of Palmyra is a brilliant and compelling novel.”

Faith Bowers (06/06/18): I really enjoyed Promise so I took out the only other Minrose Gwin novel in our library system. The writing is lyrical and detailed about a small Mississippi town in 1963 with the KKK and the Black shantytown neighbors. The foreshadowing is abundant so you know bad things are going to happen to everyone all the main characters.

Gwin intertwines writing of a novel within the story and so the words curl like smoke in the air. There are a few good surprises in Part V, the end of the story.
Rating: ****

Have you read this book, too?  Click here to submit your review.


 
 
Join Our Email List
Email:  
For Email Marketing you can trust

 

Send Out Cards

 

Constant Contact