The Truth According to Us

The Truth According to Us

by Annie Barrows

Overview: From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what’s right.

Annie Barrows once again evokes the charm and eccentricity of a small town filled with extraordinary characters. Her new novel, The Truth According to Us, brings to life an inquisitive young girl, her beloved aunt, and the alluring visitor who changes the course of their destiny forever.

In the summer of 1938, Layla Beck’s father, a United States senator, cuts off her allowance and demands that she find employment on the Federal Writers’ Project, a New Deal jobs program. Within days, Layla finds herself far from her accustomed social whirl, assigned to cover the history of the remote mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia, and destined, in her opinion, to go completely mad with boredom. But once she secures a room in the home of the unconventional Romeyn family, she is drawn into their complex world and soon discovers that the truth of the town is entangled in the thorny past of the Romeyn dynasty.

At the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is desperate to learn everything in her quest to acquire her favorite virtues of ferocity and devotion—a search that leads her into a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business that occupies her charismatic father and the reason her adored aunt Jottie remains unmarried. Layla’s arrival strikes a match to the family veneer, bringing to light buried secrets that will tell a new tale about the Romeyns. As Willa peels back the layers of her family’s past, and Layla delves deeper into town legend, everyone involved is transformed—and their personal histories completely rewritten

Faith Bowers (09/15/15): This is a combination love stories, mystery and historical fiction set during the late depression era of 1938 in a north eastern West Virginia town. Layla Beck a well connected young woman finds herself the writer for the history of this imaginary town of Macedonia employed by the Federal Writers project of Roosevelt New Deal.

In getting to board with the Romeyn family, we get to know their lives, histories and why they have a blended family. They are kind, funny and I enjoyed the coming of age story. Annie Barrows shared the writing of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society with her aunt Mary Ann Shaffer. They are of similar styles and are both good historical fiction.
Rating: ****

Have you read this book, too?  Click here to submit your review.


 
 
Join Our Email List
Email:  
For Email Marketing you can trust

 

Send Out Cards

 

Constant Contact